Posted by: xinyun | December 21, 2008

One successful portrait sketch

After years of trying to hone my skills in sketching human faces and being jealous of people like dear Samantha who can draw human faces like a photocopying machine, I’m proud to say that I have finally managed to make a decent portrait sketch! (In my point of view at least) *Applause please!*

I dug out this photo book at the studio I’m working part time at and decided to draw this little girl because she had a really nice smile!

071220081

Compare and Contrast!

I think sketching with a ballpoint pen makes her look a bit more mature because the pen strokes tend to accentuate the crinkles of her smile and makes them look like wrinkles. Her eyes doesn’t seem to be looking at the right direction but this is still one of my better works! And I realised that I’m good at drawing hair! Haha maybe I do have potential in becoming one who designs wigs with lustrious hair in the future!


Leave a comment

Categories